Shizukiyama Shrine 


Five of the Mori lords are enshrined here

The Mori gave up their castle and left Hagi shortly after the Meiji Restoration of 1868. The shogunate had been replaced by a new political structure that was centered around the emperor, and samurai families across the country relinquished their titles and land. In 1878 the people of Hagi built Shizukiyama Shrine on the grounds of the former castle to show their devotion and gratitude to the Mori. Five of the Mori lords are enshrined here.

(This English-language text was created by the Japan Tourism Agency. )

Basic info

Price Adults: ¥220
Children (elementary school/junior high school students): ¥100
*entrance fee of the ruin of Hagi Catsle
Access 5 minute walk from Hagi Castle Ruins・Shizuki Park Entrance Stop
on the Eastern Route with Hagi Junkan Ma-ru Bus
Address Horiuchi, Hagi(in the ruin of Hagi Catsle)
Open 8am-6:30pm April-October; 8:30am-4:30pm November-February.
Open daily
Holiday No Holidays
Parking Shizuki Daiichi Chushajyo (Free Parking)